The Playfords Home deutsch . english
the ensemble . the programs . the concerts . the CDs
audio/video . pictures/downloads . press comments . contact
Playground . Jam Session . facebook . links

Björn Werner | Annegret Fischer | Nora Thiele | Erik Warkenthin | Benjamin Dreßler |

the ensemble

The Playfords Musik Band

The Playfords are dedicated to creating authentic and innovative interpretations of Renaissance and early Baroque dance music. Using historical instruments, they perform early music in new arrangements that start with spontaneous improvisation and reach completed form after a process of cooperative work with dance experts and after a great deal of live performance.
The five-member group was formed in 2001, inspired by The English Dancing Master by John and Henry Playford. This collection, which first appeared in 1651, provided notation on fitting dance steps for the period's well-known melodies. Harmonies and bass were to be improvised by the performing musicians, their essential character determined by those musicians' own predilections and particular talents. This was a welcome challenge to any virtuosic musician's creativity – then as well as now. The Playfords continue in this tradition through the practices they have adopted in their performance of early music. Playful references to contemporary music are naturally unavoidable. The group's "Early Music Jam Sessions" have gained cult status, and their "Early Music Folk" has captivated audiences in Germany and abroad.


Björn Werner Gesang Voice

The Playfords have performed regularly at international festivals since 2005, including as part of the "Oude Muziek Utrecht” festival, at the Gewandhaus Leipzig, Schloss Tirol, as part of the MDR-Musiksommer, at the Bach-Biennale Weimar, the Stockstädter Blockflötenfesttage, the Festival Gottorfer Hofmusik, the SWR-Sommerfestival, the Hohenloher Kultursommer, the Brandenburgischen Sommerkonzerte, the Bach Biennale Weimar and at the EXPO 2015 in Milan.
The Playfords have organised the annual PLAYGROUND festival of early music folk in Weimar since 2011.

Björn Werner – voice

Björn Werner studied under Prof. Ulrike Fuhrmann and Dimitri Kharitonov at the University of Music Franz Liszt in Weimar and completed a master class at the Festival Mitte Europa. He has appeared as a soloist at the Theater Erfurt, Landestheater Eisenach, Gewandhaus Leipzig, and at the Kurt-Weill-Festival and onstage at the Gotham Comedy Club in New York. He sings not only with The Playfords, but also with DUODARWIN and is responsible for the “Unfinished Song Cycle of Delightful Animal Poems”.
www.bjoern-werner.de

Annegret Fischer – recorders

Annegret Fischer Blockflöte Recorder Annegret Fischer studied music education for schoolteachers, English, and the recorder at the University of Music "Franz Liszt" in Weimar, where she also earned her artistic diploma by performance under the tutelage of Myriam Eichberger. She gained experience in dance music, international folk music and historical improvisation as a member of the folk band Fork & Fiddle and with The Playfords, which she helped found. She is also a founder of the AlteMusikJamSession (Early Music Jam Session) and, when time allows, continues to improvise with Martin Erhardt as part of the All’Improvviso ensemble. Annegret is happiest teaching what she is happiest playing: the recorder in general, historical improvisation, and dance and folk music. She is currently performing in Selim Doğru’s children’s opera "Wüstenwind" as part of the 2014/2015 season at the Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar.
www.annegret-fischer.de

Nora Thiele – percussion

Nora Thiele Percussion Rekussion Nora Thiele is a distinctly versatile percussionist who is much in demand and who has made a name for herself in the international frame drum scene thanks to her compelling stage presence and her unique sound. As a musician she moves seamlessly between the genres of old music, world music, jazz and improvisation. Traditional, experimental and classical music feature in her repertoire in equal measure. Her musical work is concerned above all with sounding out the intersections, boundaries and connections among genres, epochs and cultures. A freelance musician in Berlin, Nora Thiele composes pieces for frame drums and other chamber music. She has performed throughout Europe, the Middle East and China as a soloist and with various ensembles. Nora Thiele has contributed to over 30 CD productions and provides instruction in oriental and historical percussion.
www.norathiele.de
www.myspace.com/norathiele

Erik Warkenthin – lute, baroque guitar

Erik Warkenthin Laute Lute Gitarre Guitarre Erik Warkenthin studied classical guitar in Rostock and Weimar. He discovered his love of early music while working on a number of projects at university. Additional courses and private tuition, with Lee Santana, among others, led him to specialise on the lute, theorbo, and baroque guitar. He has been strumming his strings with The Playfords and the Simkhat Hanefesh ensemble ever since. He is also highly in demand as a guest musician for opera performances and choral concerts and has appeared with the Monteverdichor Würzburg, Kammerchor Michaelstein, Gewandhaus Choir Leipzig, and the Mitteldeutsche Barock Compagney, amongst others. In addition, he is actively involved in working with youth and Christian popular music as well as working as an e-guitarist and band coach.

Benjamin Dreßler – viola da gamba Benjamin Dreßler Viola da gamba, Gambe

Benjamin Dreßler played cello as a child and took his first lesson on the viola da gamba with Wieland Kuijken. He studied sound engineering and voice in Berlin and the viola da gamba in Leipzig. He has performed as a soloist and with the Cappella Sagittariana Dresden and The Playfords. As a sound engineer, Benjamin takes pride in producing perfectly executed and rich sounding recordings, especially of cross-genre and unconventional music.
www.benjamin-dressler.de

Claudia Mende – baroque violin
(guest performer for the Christmas production “Nova! nova!”)

Claudia Mende, Barockvioine, Violine, Violin Claudia Mende is a freelance performer living in Potsdam and has made appearances with her own baroque music ensembles (Hofkapelle Schloß Seehaus and Trio: Mende-Gröger-Weiß) as well as with the Lautten Compagney and The English Concert. When not engaged in historical performance practice, she enjoys exploring and testing boundaries in “All-worlds-universal-muzic from Malvonia” with the Staatlichen Kulturensemble Shmaltz. Claudia takes great care in choosing instruments, whether an early baroque violin or a Rumanian tromba marina. It absolutely must be historically accurate, but the more unusual the sound, the better.

The Playfords Home deutsch . english
das Ensemble . die Programme . die Konzerte . die CDs
Audio/Video . Bilder/Downloads . Pressestimmen . Kontakt
Playground . Jam Session . Facebook . Links

Björn Werner | Annegret Fischer | Nora Thiele | Erik Warkenthin | Benjamin Dreßler |

das Ensemble

The Playfords Musik Band

Das mitteldeutsche Ensemble The Playfords steht für authentische und innovative Interpretation von Tanzmusik aus Renaissance und Frühbarock. Auf historischen Instrumenten spielen sie Alte Musik in neuen Arrangements, die aus spontanen Improvisationen entstehen und in Zusammenarbeit mit Tanzmeistern und durch viel Bühnenerfahrung reifen. Das fünfköpfige Ensemble gründete sich 2001, inspiriert durch „The English Dancing Master“ von John und Henry Playford. In dieser erstmals 1651 erschienenen Sammlung sind bekannte Melodien der Zeit mit passenden Tanzanweisungen notiert. Harmonien und Basslinien wurden durch die ausführenden Musiker improvisierend gefunden und durch ihre individuellen Vorlieben und Fähigkeiten wesentlich bestimmt, eine willkommene Herausforderung für die Kreativität jedes virtuosen Musikers - damals wie heute. Mit ihrer spielerischen Herangehensweise an Alte Musik stellen sich The Playfords, allesamt Spezialisten ihres Fachs, in diese Tradition, augenzwinkernde Bezüge zu aktueller Musik sind unvermeidlich. Ihre „Early Music Jam-Sessions“ genießen Kult-Status, mit ihrem „Early Music Folk“ begeistern sie Konzertbesucher im In - und Ausland.

Björn Werner Gesang Voice

The Playfords konzertieren seit 2005 auf internationalen Festivals, darunter beim Festival „Oude Muziek Utrecht“ (Fringeprogramme), im Gewandhaus Leipzig, im Schloss Tirol, beim MDR-Musiksommer, und bei der Bach-Biennale Weimar. 2007 erschien ihr Debutalbum "Oranges & Lemons" bei Coviello Classics, 2010 folgte die Weihnachts-CD "Nova! Nova!" und 2011 das italienische Programm „Fa una canzone“. Seit 2011 veranstalten The Playfords jährlich das playgroundfestival of early music folk in Weimar.

Björn Werner – Gesang

Björn Werner studierte Gesang bei Prof. Ulrike Fuhrmann und Dimitri Kharitonov an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar und war Meisterschüler beim Festival Mitte Europa. Als Solist gastierte er am Theater Erfurt, Landestheater Eisenach, Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, beim Kurt-Weill-Fest und im Gotham Comedy Club in New York. Er ist der Sänger des Ensembles The Playfords, des DUODARWIN und des unvollendeten Liederkreises niedlicher Tiergedichte.
www.bjoern-werner.de

Annegret Fischer – Blockflöten

Annegret Fischer Blockflöte Recorder Annegret Fischer studierte Schulmusik, Anglistik und Blockflöte und erspielte sich ihr künstlerisches Diplom an der HfM „Franz Liszt“ Weimar bei Myriam Eichberger. Erfahrungen mit Tanzmusik, internationalem Folk und historischer Improvisation gewann sie als Blockflötistin der Folkband „Fork & Fiddle“ und mit „The Playfords“, dessen Gründungsmitglied sie ist. Sie ist auch Initiatorin der AlteMusikJamSession und improvisiert gelegentlich mit Martin Erhardt im Ensemble „All’Improvviso“. Annegret unterrichtet am liebsten das, was sie am liebsten spielt: Blockflöte, historische Improvisation, Tanz- und Folkmusik. In der Spielzeit 2014/2015 spielt sie am Deutschen Nationaltheater Weimar in der Kinderoper "Wüstenwind" von Selim Doğru.
www.annegret-fischer.de

Nora Thiele – Percussion

Nora Thiele Percussion Rekussion Nora Thiele ist eine der vielseitigsten und gefragtesten Perkussionistinnen Deutschlands, und hat sich darüber hinaus mit ihrer mitreißenden Bühnenpräsenz und ihrem unverwechselbaren Sound einen Namen in der internationalen Rahmentrommelszene erspielt. Sie bewegt sich als Musikerin zwischen den Bereichen Alte Musik, Weltmusik, Jazz und Improvisation. Traditionelle, experimentelle und klassische Musik gehören gleichermaßen zu ihrem Repertoire. In ihrer musikalischen Arbeit geht es um das Ausloten von Schnittstellen, Grenzen und Übergängen von Genres, Epochen und Kulturen. Als freischaffende Musikerin in Berlin lebend, komponiert Nora Thiele Stücke für Rahmentrommel und andere Kammermusik. Als Solistin und mit ihren Ensembles konzertierte sie bisher in Europa, dem nahen Osten und China. Nora Thiele wirkte bei über 30 CD Produktionen mit und unterrichtet orientalische und historische Perkussion.
www.norathiele.de
www.myspace.com/norathiele

Erik Warkenthin – Laute, Barockgitarre

Erik Warkenthin Laute Lute Gitarre Guitarre Erik Warkenthin studierte klassische Gitarre in Rostock und Weimar. Durch Projekte an der Hochschule entdeckte er seine Liebe zur Alten Musik. Kurse und private Studien, u.a. bei Lee Santana, brachten ihn auf den Weg und er spezialisierte sich auf Laute, Theorbe und Barockgitarre. Vielsaitig ist er seitdem mit den Ensembles „The Playfords“ und „Simkhat Hanefesh“ unterwegs. Desweiteren wirkt er als gefragter Gastmusiker bei zahlreichen Opernaufführungen und Chorkonzerten des Monteverdichor Würzburg, Kammerchor Michaelstein, Gewandhauschor Leipzig, Mitteldeutsche Barock Compagney u.a. mit. Außerdem beschäftigt er sich im Bereich der christlichen Popularmusik mit der Nachwuchsarbeit und ist als E-Gitarrist und Bandcoach tätig.

Benjamin Dreßler – Viola da gamba Benjamin Dreßler Viola da gamba, Gambe

Benjamin Dreßler spielte in seiner Kindheit auf dem Cello, erhielt seinen ersten Gambenunterricht bei Wieland Kuijken, studierte Tonmeister mit Hauptfach Gesang in Berlin und Viola da gamba in Leipzig. Er konzertiert als Solist und mit der Cappella Sagittariana Dresden und The Playfords. Als Tonmeister konzentriert sich Benjamin auf klanglich perfekte Realisierungen genreübergreifender und unkonventioneller Tonproduktionen.
www.benjamin-dressler.de

Claudia Mende – Barockvioline
(Gastmusikerin beim Weihnachtsprogramm Nova! Nova!)

Claudia Mende, Barockvioine, Violine, Violin Claudia Mende lebt als freischaffende Künstlerin in Potsdam und tritt u.a. mit eigenen Barockensembles (Hofkapelle Schloß Seehaus, Trio: Mende-Gröger-Weiß) sowie der Lautten Compagney und The English Concert auf. Jenseits der historischen Aufführungspraxis spielt sie grenzgängerisch „Allweltmuzik aus Malwonia“ mit dem Staatlichen Kulturensemble Shmaltz. Besonderes Augenmerk legt sie auf Ihr Instrumentarium, das einerseits historisch passen muss, andererseits im Klang nicht ausgefallen genug sein kann, von der frühbarocken Violine bis hin zur rumänischen Trompetengeige.